So today is also Day 1 of quite a few rainy days ahead. Funny that I had been musing over the lack of rain back in SB over this past winter -- I like the reason/excuse to hole in at home and vegetate/hibernate here and there. I will certainly get what I had been missing here. Rain Monday, not Tuesday, and then rain indefinitely in Porto beginning on Wednesday. I realized this morning as I was packing up that I indeed forgot an umbrella. However those 6 or so pairs of shorts stare me in the face as wasted luggage space, haha.
More Catalunyan fast food was consumed for lunch -- this time I tried Patatas Bravas. Not a fan. Potato wedges with some type of mild cinnamon sauce and whipped cream. I bravely ate most of them.
Checked into hotel #3 a half hour before official checkin time y it was no problema. The third time is def the charm for my hotel saga -- this room was a little less $$ than hotel #2, but it's much better. Larger room still, with a small balcony off it. Nicer furnishings, more comfy bed. Also a free coupon for cava at the lobby bar, woot.
Got things put away and headed out to see the famed Sagrada Familia. Hopped on the subway and it dropped me off right across the street. Too bad that after circling the entire Basilica de La Sagrada Familia once and then hitting the ticket booth for my entrance + audio tour -- they were just closing for the day. Apparently Mass was going to happen and they couldn't admit any more peeps (I was like 3rd back from the cut-off). Oh well, will try again manana. I focused on studying the involved (and heavily under renovation/construction) exterior:
Decided to foot it over and down Passeig de Sant Joan and see Barcelona's Arc of Triumph, then circle back through the Gothic Quarter and eventually make my way back to the hotel. All of that happened.
The light mist here and there was actually nice. However by the time I made it back to the room 'twas totally beat -- ended up napping until like after 8pm. Debated on ordering room service, then decided to suck it up and throw on some warm clothes and go hit up the casual looking foccaceria I had spotted two blocks away. Lawd, was I glad I did!
I also felt proud that this goodness (food y Estrella Damm beer) was less than 7 Euros -- I had Rachel Ray in my head applauding my successful efforts to stay under $30 a day but still get some goodness. All I needed was a videographer and some long over-annunciated "MMMmmmmm"s. Haha. And with the free wifi (pronounced "wee-fee" here) that the guy made sure (unprompted) to give me the access code to when he was giving me my order (was it my UCSB sweatshirt that gave me away as a wifi-craving tourist, LOL) -- best meal yet. Ha. I think tomorrow I will finally bite the rice-bullet and have some paella...
The light mist here and there was actually nice. However by the time I made it back to the room 'twas totally beat -- ended up napping until like after 8pm. Debated on ordering room service, then decided to suck it up and throw on some warm clothes and go hit up the casual looking foccaceria I had spotted two blocks away. Lawd, was I glad I did!
I also felt proud that this goodness (food y Estrella Damm beer) was less than 7 Euros -- I had Rachel Ray in my head applauding my successful efforts to stay under $30 a day but still get some goodness. All I needed was a videographer and some long over-annunciated "MMMmmmmm"s. Haha. And with the free wifi (pronounced "wee-fee" here) that the guy made sure (unprompted) to give me the access code to when he was giving me my order (was it my UCSB sweatshirt that gave me away as a wifi-craving tourist, LOL) -- best meal yet. Ha. I think tomorrow I will finally bite the rice-bullet and have some paella...












