Woke up early as my hotel here apparently has some construction going on. Not completely pleased with the situation, but trying to see the positive in that it doesn't let me sleep through half the morning.
Got up, got showered, got dressed, and got out to see what the day had to hold. Ended up revisiting a Spain chain fast-food place I hadn't had since Barcelona... Pans & Company. Got their breakfast special that landed me a cafe con leche and a breakfast sandwich "planchado" (meaning "ironed", haha), which gave me this huge panini-type sandwich thing with ham and cheese inside. Breakfast, done.
Found the nearest station that sold the hop-on/hop-off bus tour tickets, and bought my two-day pass (the difference between one day and two days was 4 Euro). Hopped on Ruta 1 and listened to all the narration for the entire route. Ended up realizing that I had already seen most of central Madrid on foot already, haha. Regardless, still good to get some perspective.
I learned that Plaza Mayor was a major spot for Madrid, as well as previously-mentioned Puerta del Sol/Vodaphone Sol/Sol. The audioguia went so far as to say Puerta del Sol is the center of Madrid and to many the center of Spain. Hmm... I hope that's not the case. It kind of wants to be like a Times Square, but it's not even anywhere near on that level. And given what I've seen of Spain, this tourist would argue vehemently with "Vodaphone Sol" being dubbed the center of Spain.
Anyway, if Barcelona felt like NYC a bit, then Madrid feels like DC. Lots of stately buildings, wide avenues, monuments, park space, and professional peoples.
After learning the significance of Plaza Mayor, I decided I'd late-afternoon dine it up there in one of the patio seating restaurants there. Picked a place that had a nice view but probably the worst tapa I've ever had. I thought I couldn't go too wrong with something with patatas -- turns out I could and did. The "fried pork" that was in this was like lechon (Filipino food item), but like 3x deep fried and then left under a heating lamp. Seriously, I was pulling bits of that pork out of my mouth like they were bones and putting them back on the plate, that meat was so overcooked. This is what I get for being super-touristy, I suppose. I know better.
I ended up wrapping up pretty quickly as soon as a bunch of futbol fanatics got seated one table away -- there were 12 I believe, all speaking in German and very animated about their love for whatever team they were rooting for. Haha. With all the cops I had seen aggregating around the plaza I figured this might be the scene of a crime -- I had seen a full-on bottle-breaking fight in Porto, Portugal down on the riverfront because of a futbol game. Since I don't care about futbol (soccer) at all and didn't want to be any part of the "festivities", I was quick to make an exit before things got stupid.
Headed back to the room for some respite, then went back out with intention of hitting the hop-on/hop-off bus after dusk to catch some of Madrid after dark. Hit up a pastry shop right in Puerta del Sol for a few items to take with me on the bus to munch on. Turned out I hit up a majorly historic pastry shop there -- La Mallorquina. I got a palmera and a napolitana something. They were delicious. I felt like the proverbial fat kid that loves cake as I munched away while on that tourist bus, haha. Took in some good sights, too.
No comments:
Post a Comment