Thursday, April 3, 2014

Day 8 - Porto: A Good Day. Matasinhos (Sunshine & Beaches), Nata (Grub Pastry), Francesinha (Signature Dish of Porto?)

I woke up early this morning -- 6am early, to be exact. For as much of a bummer as yesterday was, I actually slept well. Dabbled around the room for awhile and got myself organized for my two more nights in this hotel.  Went up to the 18th floor and took advantage of the free breakfast the hotel offers their guests. The all-windows walls afforded views of the greater Porto area -- this city is definitely an old city (duh, but still). I'm not used to seeing eyefuls of views of buildings that are all hundreds of years old.  And speaking of age (haha, shame on me for this)... other than one sophisticated (European) younger-looking couple a few tables away, I am fairly sure I was the only person there under 60 years of age (there were maybe 20 people eating breakfast total).

Went back to the room and got myself ready to head out for a day of exploration.

I caught that Yellow Bus at around 9:30am and took the one that went to the "castles" -- I ended up getting off at a stop near the nearby seaside town of Matasinhos that was the site of a fort.  Ended up walking through Matasinhos, back by the fort (this time it was open, paid the .5 Euro entrance fee and took a bunch of pics from the top of the fort), and back down the main roadway for some seriously picturesque Atlantic Ocean beach scenery.

Some pics of Matasinhos:






Some pics from the fort:





Some Atlantic Ocean pics:





Picked the yellow bus back up again in the Foz area (last pic above), and road it back through town -- both sides of the river. Much respect to the people that drive through this town -- the narrow streets wind up the steep hillsides on both sides of the river.  Got dropped off just a little ways from the town center near a cool looking church.  Decided I was starving and got introduced to "Nata" at a pastry shop -- a Portuguese custard pastry.  "Made on site" the guy was proud to say.  And I was proud to eat it (I got two, actually) -- yum.  Got them (and a coffee) to-go and walked around the corner to a nearby park.  Not 5 seconds after I snapped this pic a guy walking by asks in accented English "hey, wanna smoke a joint?"  I smiled as I raise my head shaking it left to right, and the guy is all "sorry, sorry".  Lol.  What's up with people in the Iberian peninsula thinking I really want to smoke some weed?



Anyway, did some more scenic walking as I headed back to the hotel. Stopped at a liquor store for a big thing of water and a tall can of Super Bock.  Got back to the room, killed half the water, the Super Bock, showered, and was ready to head back out for some serious food.  Headed back out in a different direction then before, but ended up back down at the center of town. Finally opted for a place directly across the square from the McDonald's that I ate at the day before. Did the outside sidewalk/patio dining, and after a brief look at the menu decided on what the place touted as a signature Porto dish -- the Francesinha.

I read the description before I ordered it... I ate (most of) it... and I am still not entirely sure what I ate.  It said sausage, something with a breaded something, something else and covered in cheese... then with a sauce that had beer, chile, and other stuff.  I think it was sausage links, slices of ham, a layer of thin beef, something that was breaded, then literally wrapped up in slice of white cheese and baked until melty... then surrounding by that mild-tasting sauce. Oh, there was also a slice of bread in there I think. Again, I'm still not entirely sure what all that was.  It was fine.  I think I gained like 5 pounds on that plus the large Sagres beer (the receipt said it was one liter lol).



So, stomach full, I walked back up the hills to my hotel to sit down in my room try and figure out what the rest of my Portugal stint of the trip is to consist of... and also, to sleep.  Tomorrow, Braga and Guimaraes await...




No comments:

Post a Comment