Finally got out after the noon hour, with plans of dipping my toes into the Mediterrean Sea. Ambled on down La Rambla hasta La Barceloneta, y then onward to the sea once again. First though, lunch. Why, oh why, did I do this?
It's kind of awesome that the combo meal choice (or "menú", en Catalán) can be with a beer. Estrella Damm, of course.
Not sure what's my deal, but I couldn't even finish this food. Ate maybe 2/3rds of the burger, most of the aros de cebolla. No problem finishing the beer though =)
I finally made it down to the sea. The sea was cold.
The weather was nice, though. Cool temperature, little bit of a breeze, partially sunny. Spent a good fair amount of time zoning out (I'm getting good at that on this gran vacation).
Afterwards dragged myself back up through El Born and La Ribera to check out the Museu Picasso. Realized I was seriously dragging my azz and decided I needed a cafeina pick-me-up or the museum tour wasn't happening. Found a little cafe nearby and had a counterside Cafe Americano. Just what was needed.
Got my Museu Picasso on, and I'm glad I did. I have a much greater appreciation for Pablo Ruiz Picasso now. Here I thought he was all abstract cubist/modernist art, but had no idea that at 15/16 he was knocking out impeccable traditional style paintings. Bought a set of prints for his series of pigeons that are going to be framed and hung somewhere in my casa.
Next, I got lost. Haha. Ended up back at the Arc of Triumph -- opposite of the way I wanted to go. Got my bearings and got back on to destination hotel.
Didn't do a full-on nap, but rested for awhile. Decided to take the plunge and do tapas en Barcelona (my few stateside tapas experiences were seriously underwhelming). Pues... I was pleasantly surprised. I ended up eating at this place called Celler de Tapas, which is a sister restaurant to this other restaurant I had spotted called Lonja de Tapas (I have had a running joke w/ a friend about lonjas (Spanish for "rolls", but used in the context of rolls of fat on a human body (mine not excluded)). Decided to retry Patatas Bravas... Y what a difference. This was described here as fried potatoes w/ a spicy sauce, and it definitely had a spicy type sauce (rather than weirdly cinnamon sweet like the first encounter) and a more like sour cream topping -- would definitely eat that again. And again. And my fancy tapas pick: scallops w/ asparagus & trout caviar. Grub. I hadn't stuffed my body full of food like that since I was stateside.
And then back to the room and time to get travel bizness squared away. Needed to pack, figure out how I was subwaying to the airport, as well as how I was getting to my hotel once I arrive at destination #2.


my first reaction was WHY are you getting fast food everywhere??? you're kind of a foodie, so you should be taking advantage of the local grub. the tapas sound amazing, though, so you may have redeemed yourself ;)
ReplyDelete--cs
@Csilla - I know, right?! Yesterday here in Porto was no exception. Those tapas that night WERE really good though.
ReplyDelete